Preview: Sue McCreeth's album and tour

Vocalist Sue McCreeth sets out on a nine-date tour of venues across England and Scotland in support of her new album Look Back And Love

Singer, songwriter and musician Sue McCreeth (pictured right) releases her sixth album, Look Back And Love, on 1 June. In support of the album McCreeth (who is the subject of a profile in the June issue of Jazz Journal) will be playing a series of nine concerts during June, September and October this year.

The album features a selection of songs from her five previous releases, beginning with 2001's 500 Miles High The Air Is Blue, along with four new numbers - Keep This Love Safe; Mother, Sister, Father, Brothers, My Man Child And His Mother; 'Til I Am In The Wrong Place and Infinity.

McCreeth studied with vibraphonist Gary Burton at Berklee and has twice been shortlisted for the International Songwriting Competition. She has performed with many well-known jazz musicians including Jim Mullen, Martin Shaw, Andrew Cleyndert, Stu Brown and John Horler, all of whom appear on Look Back And Love.

The tour dates are as follows:

29 May - Pizza Express, London
16 June - Green Room, Perth
18 June - Whigham's, Edinburgh
21 June - Cottiers, Glasgow (part of the Glasgow Jazz Festival)
13 September - Blue Piano, Birmingham
14 September - Cambridge Modern Jazz Club
19 October - Chesterfield Jazz Club
22 October - Oxford Wine Café
4 November - Tealby Village Hall, Tealby, Lincolnshire

For further information, please visit Sue McCreeth's website.

Text by Bruce Lindsay, photo by Ken Thomson

Relax with the luxurious print edition of Jazz Journal and enjoy more jazz news, reviews, features and debate.

post a comment