Van Morrison & Joey DeFrancesco

Van Morrison's 39th studio album, You're Driving Me Crazy, features Hammond organist Joey DeFrancesco and a track list including jazz standards

On his new album You're Driving Me Crazy, singer Van Morrison, always sympathetic to jazz, explores a variety of jazz and blues standards and classics (Miss Otis Regrets, The Things I Used to Do, Everyday I Have the Blues) alongside new interpretations of songs from his own catalogue (Have I Told You Lately, The Way Young Lovers Do, Magic Time). The album also includes Evening Shadows, co-credited to Morrison and Acker Bilk.

Morrison collaborates on the album with Joey DeFrancesco (pictured right with Morrison by Richard Wade) and his band - including Dan Wilson (guitar), Michael Ode (drums) and Troy Roberts (tenor saxophone). DeFrancesco, who signed his first deal with Columbia Records at the age of 16, has performed with Miles Davis, John McLaughlin, Grover Washington, Jr. and many more. He’s considered to be largely responsible for bringing the classic Hammond organ sound back to jazz in the late 1980s.

The release of You're Driving Me Crazy caps more than a year of non-stop activity for Van Morrison, who released Roll With The Punches and Versatile in quick succession in the autumn and winter of 2017. Roll With The Punches became his 13th album to reach the Top 10 of the U.K. charts, while Versatile topped Billboard's jazz chart. Jazz has been an ongoing influence on Morrison’s music. His 1968 album, Astral Weeks, showcased jazz musicians including Connie Kay and Jay Berliner and he’s performed on stage and/or in the studio with musicians such as John Lee Hooker, Ray Charles, Georgie Fame, Freddie Hubbard, Chick Corea and Herbie Hancock.

The successor to Versatile, You're Driving Me Crazy will be available in 1CD/2LP configurations from Legacy Recordings, a division of Sony Music Entertainment. Release date is 27 April. A limited edition 7" single featuring Morrison's Close Enough For Jazz b/w his version of Guitar Slim's The Things I Used To Do will be available for Record Store Day 2018 (marked at independent record stores nationwide on Saturday 21 April).

The track list for You're Driving Me Crazy is as follows:

1. Miss Otis Regrets (Cole Porter)
2. Hold It Right There (Terry, Grey, Vinson)
3. All Saints Day (Van Morrison)
4. The Way Young Lovers Do (Van Morrison)
5. The Things I Used To Do (Eddie Jones)
6. Travellin' Light (John Mercer, James Mundy, James Young)
7. Close Enough For Jazz (Van Morrison)
8. Goldfish Bowl (Van Morrison)
9. Evening Shadows (Van Morrison / Acker Bilk)
10. Magic Time (Van Morrison)
11. You're Driving Me Crazy (Walter Donaldson)
12. Everyday I Have The Blues (Peter Chatman)
13. Have I Told You Lately (Van Morrison)
14. Sticks And Stones (Titus Turner)
15. Celtic Swing (Van Morrison)

Bruce Lindsay

post a comment